top of page

Mirror Mirror on  the Wall..

Most days we wake up and before we have even reflected on how lucky we are just to have woken up, we start thinking of all the things we don’t have.. hands up if you are guilty of this... I know I am.

We start our day scrolling through social media, looking at people in exotic places, while we eat our breakfast getting ready to go to work and so the comparison begins.

I wish I had their life, her body is so much better than mine, I wish my boyfriend would do that for me, I want that kind of car... it is no wonder we walk through life so discontent with what we have in front of us.

People crave success, the type of success is different for everyone. Just the other week my husband was feeling quite critical of his achievements to date. He wanted to be better in his career, but his mind set was more focused on his lack of success compared to others.

Whilst he was busy tearing himself to shreds I was thinking to myself is this guy effed in the head? Let me list some of my favourite accomplishments of his (not in any particular order)

1. Lost his father as a teenager, became the man of his household and still has the biggest and most open heart despite this tragedy and does not play the victim or use this as an excuse for anything

2. Bought our first house before he turned 21

3. Loves me unconditionally

4. Sees the best in people

5. Juggles full time study and full time work

Does he lack success? 

I could be bias, but I personally don’t think so. But when he compares his life to others he always feels he comes up short, and he is not the only one.

What about comparison of bodies?

This is my problem. My whole life I have looked at girls who are naturally slender and wished and prayed that I had that. 

Instead of focusing on the positives of my own situation I looked at everything I didn’t have. 

Did it bring me happiness to consistently berate myself... obviously not...

Self contentment I believe is life long journey, I think if we put the most successful people and those who we perceive to have it all in a room and ask them are they completely content we would be pleasantly surprised.

To compare is to draw similarities and differences between things and sometimes evaluate which is better.

Comparison works well when we are looking for ways to enhance something or choosing a new direction. 

It does not serve any purpose when judging personal success and happiness.

One of my biggest goals for myself is to be more content with what I have in my life and not look at other people thinking theirs is better.... Because when it boils down to it, when you look in the mirror that’s who needs to be happy.

Let’s work on being happy with what we have whilst working for what we want. Ditch the dissatisfaction, smile more and see the beauty your world has given you 🌻


bottom of page